Overview of Muslim Candidates’ Performance  in Lok Sabha Elections 2024

HomeNational News and Affairs

Overview of Muslim Candidates’ Performance in Lok Sabha Elections 2024

Foundation Laid for Centre for Patients
Health Work Force in India
Church-Sponsored Refugees Arrive in Canada’s Port Colborne

In the recently concluded Lok Sabha elections of 2024, a total of 78 Muslim candidates contested across various constituencies, marking a decrease from the 115 candidates who participated in the 2019 elections.

Among the Muslim candidates who emerged victorious:
• Congress candidate Imran Masood secured the Saharanpur seat with a significant margin of 64,542 votes.
• Iqra Choudhary, a 29-year-old Samajwadi Party candidate from Kairana, defeated BJP’s Pradeep Kumar by 69,116 votes.
• Afzal Ansari won the Ghazipur seat.
• AIMIM chief Asaduddin Owaisi retained his Hyderabad seat with an impressive margin of 3,38,087 votes, defeating BJP’s Madhavi Latha Kompella.
• In Ladakh, Independent candidate Mohammad Haneefa clinched victory by a margin of 27,862 votes.
• Another Independent candidate, Abdul Rashid Sheikh, triumphed in Jammu and Kashmir’s Baramulla constituency, securing 4.7 lakh votes.
• Samajwadi Party’s Mohibbullah won the Rampur seat in Uttar Pradesh with 4,81,503 votes, while Zia Ur Rehman emerged victorious in Sambhal by a margin of 1.2 lakh votes.
• Mian Altaf Ahmad of the National Conference won the Anantnag-Rajouri seat in Jammu and Kashmir with a margin of 2,81,794 votes against former Chief Minister Mehbooba Mufti. In Srinagar, NC candidate Aga Syed Ruhullah Mehdi secured 3,56,866 votes.
• In West Bengal’s Baharampur constituency, first-time contender Yusuf Pathan defeated Congress leader and six-time MP Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury by 85,022 votes.

Overall, the Congress-led INDIA bloc secured victory in 231 seats, while the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) emerged victorious in 295 seats. This marks a significant shift as Prime Minister Narendra Modi will now need to rely on the support of his allies to form a government for the first time since 2014.

The INDIA bloc is reportedly engaging with NDA allies in efforts to garner support for government formation. (With inputs from PTI)