HomeGlobal News and Affairs

Dr. Zakir Naik wins King Faisal International Prize

Foundation Stone Laid for Abu Dhabi’s first Hindu Temple
Morocco Makes First Electric Pickup Truck
Islamic Academy Opened in Tatarstan

Zakir Naik
faisal prize winners4
faisal prize winners2

Riyadh: Dr. Zakir A. Naik, president of the Islamic Research Foundation of India, won the 2015 King Faisal International Prize (KFIP) for Service to Islam.Makkah Gov. Prince Khaled Al-Faisal and KFIP Secretary-General Abdullah Al-Othaimeen announced the names of the winners at a glittering function held at Al-Khozama Center. Two internationally acclaimed scholars of chemistry, Professor Omar Mwannes Yaghi from the United States and Professor Michael Gratzel from Switzerland, were declared co-winners of the prize in the science category (chemistry). The award for Islamic studies went to Dr. Abdul Aziz bin Abdul Rahman Kaki, a consultant at Madinah Development Authority. Prof. Jeffrey Ivan Gordon from the US was declared winner of the prize in medicine. Each prize consists of a handwritten Arabic certificate summarizing the laureate’s work, a commemorative 24-carat, 200-gram gold medal and a cash award of SR750,000.