AMU Team Gets Top Ranks for Designing Formula Electric Car

HomeNational News and Affairs

AMU Team Gets Top Ranks for Designing Formula Electric Car

Muslim Representation in Newly Elected Karnataka Assembly Slightly Increase Lingayats Get Lion’s Share Again
“They Say We’re Dirty”

Aligarh: In the online “6th Annual FSEV Concept Challenge” (Pi-EV 2022) of Formula Bharat, an ergonomic and potent Formula-Student Electric Car created by a student team of the Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE) Z H College of Engineering and Technology (ZHCET), the collegiate club of the Department of Mechanical Engineering, Aligarh Muslim University (AMU), has received numerous rankings and awards.

The AMU SAE ZHCET team won the Concept Challenge, which featured student teams from prestigious universities such as IIT Madras, IIT Guwahati, IIT Kharagpur, IIT Goa, IIT (ISM) Dhanbad, and VIT, among others, for designing the Formula-Student Electric Car, placing ninth in Procurement Strategy, twelve in Engineering Design and software and intelligence integration, seventeen in team management, and thirteen overall.

“The vehicle is incorporated with a power transmission mechanism to improve the driving experience as well as a driving assistance system consisting of accelerometer, gyroscope, magnetometer sensors, and a digital speedometer using Raspberry pi”, said Syed Imaduddin (Captain, SAE ZHCET).

Syed Taimoor Ali (Vice-Captain, SAE ZHCET) pointed out: “The Orion Battery Management System capable of data acquisition in the electric car will come in handy in improving the future design”.

Congratulating the team, Prof Mohammad Muzammil (Chairman, Department of Mechanical Engineering), said that the achievement will motivate the other students to follow in the footsteps of SAE ZHCET in exploring the realm of electric mobility.

Faculty advisors, Dr. Syed Fahad Anwer and Nafees Ahmad said that the AMU community stands proud of the nationwide recognition of the SAE ZHCET Club for providing environment-friendly mobility solutions.

“The team members Abhishek Kumar (Manager), M Ashraf (Technical Head), Haisam Khurshid, Fawwaz Bin Tasneem, Mohd Saif Usmani, Ammar Salman, Faraz Khan, Shahil, Mohammad Areeb Siddiqui, M Athar Zaid, Mohd Rehan, Mohd Ahad, Syed Haider Ali, Mohd Areeb, Mohd Saif, Abdul Rehman, Abu Athar, Ali Hesham Raza, Mohd Zeeshan Khan, and Mohd Asad were rigorously trained”, said Arquam Hashim Siddiquie, student-chairperson, SAE ZHCET Club.