Panjab University and Punjab University

Basically, it was the University of The Punjab which was established in Lahore in 1882. When the subcontinent was partitioned in 1947, the section of the University on the Indian side of the Punjab was named as Panjab University to distinguish it from the original University of The Punjab in Lahore.
The original University of The Punjab in Lahore is the oldest university of Pakistan. It has several campuses and has produced two Nobel laureates i.e., Dr. Abdus Salam and Har Gobind Khorana. The Panjab University in Chandigarh is also a very distinguished institution of learning and has almost 200 colleges under it.


be the first to comment on this article

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Go to TOP