HomeNational News and Affairs

Congress Fields 19 Muslims, JDS 20

Herbal Garden to Come up in Jamia
Sheikh Gulab – A Hero of Indigo Movement
New Chairman Claims Rs. 5 Cr. in New Deposits

By A Staff Writer

Bangalore: The Congress Party has fielded 19 Muslims candidates for May 5 Assembly elections. These are : Firoz Nooruddin Saith from Belgaum North; Rafeeq Khanapuri from Khanapur; Maqbool Baghwan from Baghwan; Qamarul Islam from Gulbarga North; Raheem Khan from Bidar; Syed Yaseen from Raichur; Syed Azeem Peer Shahkhadri from Shiggaon; Abdul Wahab from Vijayanagar; C. M. Ibrahim from Bhadravathi; Rafeeq Ahmed from Tumkur; Naseer Ahmed from Kolar; Abdur Rahman Shariff from Hebbal (Bangalore city); Roshan Baig from Shivajinagar (Bangalore); N. A. Harris from Shantinagar (Bangalore city); G. A. Bawa from Chamrajpet; Saadath Ali Khan from Channapatna; Muhiuddin Bava from Bangalore North; U. T. Khader from Mangalore; Tanveer Sait from Narasimharaja (Mysore city).
Firoz Sait, Qamarul Islam, Raheem Khan, Syed Yaseen, Roshan Baig, N. A. Harris, U.T.Khader and Tanveer Sait are sitting MLAs from the respective constituencies from where they have been fielded. Naseer Ahmed who is seeking election from Kolar is a member of the Legislative Council.
The Janata Dal Secular has fielded 20 Muslim candidates. Prominent among them are B.Z. Zameer Ahmed Khan from Chamrajpet (who is sitting MLA) and Abdul Azeem from Hebbal. Former Minister Iqbal Ansari has been fielded from his home constituency Gangavati in Koppala district. Nazeer Patel, brother of former President of the JDS Merajuddin Patel has been given ticket from Humnabad. Samiullah, a realtor will be trying his luck from Jayanagar while Inayatullah