HomeNational News and Affairs

Mushawarat Announces New Office Bearers

Jamiat Ulama Open School Felicitates Matric Passed Madrassa Students
Karnataka Muslim Political Forum Demands Five Tickets for Muslims in the 2024 General Election
JMI Vice-Chancellor Prof. Najma Akhtar conferred with Padma Shri

New Delhi: In an extraordinary meeting, the new team of the All India Muslim Majlis-e Mushawarat, the umbrella body of Indian Muslim organisations and eminent personalities, was announced here.
The elections for a 2-year term (2014-2015) were held last month. Dr. Zafarul-Islam Khan was re-elected unopposed for the new term and 20 Central Working Committee members were also elected. They are as follows: Maulana Syed Jalaluddin Umari, Mr. Syed Shahabuddin, Mufti Ataur Rahman Qasmi, Mr. Ahmad Rashid Shervani, Mr. Manzoor Ahmad, IPS (Retd), Mr. Mohammad Adeeb, Mr. Asaduddin Owaisi, MP, Prof. Akhtarul Wasey, Maulana Junaid Ahmad Banarasi, Maulana Mohammad Salim Qasmi, Maulana Asghar Ali Imam Mehdi Salfi, Mr. Navaid Hamid, Mr. Mujtaba Farooq, Maulana Badruddin Ajmal, MP, Maulana Mohammad Wali Rahmani, Dr. S.Q. R. Ilyas, Maulana Ahmad Ali, Quasmi, Mr. Amanullah Khan, Mr. Khawja Mohammad Shahid and Janab Mohammad Sulaiman.
According to the Constitution of AIMMM, the President nominated the following Central Committee members to the Central Working Committee: Janab Muhammad Jaafar, Janab Ejaz Ahmad Aslam, Prof. Humayun Murad, Mufti Fuzailur Rahman Hilal Usman, Janab Ilyas Malik, Janab Masoom Moradabadi, Janab SMY Nadeem, Janab Abdul Khaliq, Mrs Nusrat Shervani, Janab Nusrat Ali and Dr Javed Jamil.
The President also appointed Muhammad Jaafar, Manzoor Ahmad IPS (retd), and Hafiz Rashid Ahmad Chowdhury as vice presidents of AIMMM and Ahmad Rashid Shervani as Secretary General of AIMMM. For the posts of general secretaries of AIMMM, he appointed Prof. Muhammad Sulaiman, Mufti Ataur Rahman Qasmi, Dr S.Q.R. Ilyas and Masoom Moradabadi. This team will work for the next two years.
This was the first election after the re-unification of the two factions of Mushawarat on 27 October last year. A sizeable number of both the elected as well as the nominated members of the central working committee belong to the members who joined Mushawarat as a result of merger.
After the meeting, AIMMM welcomed the visiting delegation of the US-India Policy Institute over lunch in which AIMMM members and other guests also participated.