HomeNational News and Affairs

Three Doctors Receive Honours

Right To Information Act – RTI: An Assessment
Safa Baitulmal
Bishop’s House in Kerala Opens Doors for Muslim Prayers

by Indira Satyanarayan

Mumbai: April 14 was a memorable day in the history of elegant Saifee Hospital when hree of its leading doctors were feted with honours. Dr. H. R. Undre, Head of the Department of Surgery, was honoured for receiving the Scroll of Honour by the National Board of Examination, New Delhi under the Ministry of Health. The young Achievers Award was presented to Dr. Aijaz Ashai, Head of the Department of Advanced Physiotherapy and Suman Jangra of the Nuclear Medicine Department. Only three persons in India have so  far won the Diplomate of certification of the Board of Nuclear Cardiology (USA). The soft spoken, self-effacing Dr. Suman Jangra is one among them. Dr. Undre, now 74, a recipient of the Rajiv Gandhi Award for Surgery has been known as a passionate teacher, be it in the  Operation Theatre or bedside. Dr. Aijaz Ashai acknowledges the opportunities the Saifee Hospital offered in order to achieve excellence in Sport Physiotherapy. As for Dr. Suman Jangra, the entire credit of making the Nuclear Medicine Department of the Saifee Hospital known,  goes to her. The honours bring credit for the Saifee Hospital which was inaugurated in 2005 by Prime Minister Manmohan Singh. Located  near the Charni