Navaid Hamid is New Mushawarat Chief

Mubeen Munawar
Bengaluru Realtor is Chairman of FIABCI
Navaid Hamid

Navaid Hamid



New Delhi: Mr. Navaid Hamid has been elected as the President of the All India Muslim Majlis ““e-Mushawarat (AIMMM) for a 2-year term ending on 31 December 2017. Out of 147 votes polled, Hamid polled scored 52 votes against Mr. Manzoor Ahmed IPS (Retd.) and Mr. Mohammad Adeeb who respectively received 47 and 45 votes. Three votes were declared invalid. Navaid Hamid is a well known social worker and activist who will take charge as the 7th president of the 50 years old apex body of Indian Muslims.
According to the AIMMM Constitution, the president and the newly elected executive committee will jointly appoint other office bearers shortly.
The following 20 members were elected as members of the Markazi Majlis-e-Amla (Central Working Committee) of AIMMM for the term 2016-2017. They comprise: Dr. Zafrul Islam Khan; Mufti Ataur Rahman Qasmi, Ahmed Rashid Shervani, Prof. Akhtarul Wasey, Asghar Ali Imam Mehdi Salfi, Syed Shahabuddin, Mujtaba Farooq, Mohd. Wali Rahmani, Syed Jalaluddin Umri, Badruddin Ajmal, MP, Mohd. Asrarul Haque Qasmi, Dr. Syed Farooq, Mr. Masoom Moradabadi, Mrs. Uzma Naheed, Khawaja Mohammed Shahid, Sirajuddin Qureshi, Mohammad Salim Qasmi, Shaikh Manzoor Ahmad, Hafiz Rashhid Ahmad Chaudhury.
In a pressnote, polling officer Abdur Rashid Agwan said the Working Committee would appoint other office bearers.
Majlis Mushawarat President Navaid Hamid has appointed former MP, Syed Shahabuddin as the advisor to the President and Akif Ahmed as the Executive Secretary of the orgnisation. He has inducted Prof. Humayun Murad from Aligarh; Abdul Aziz from Kolkata, Supreme Court advocate Ejaz Maqbool; Dr. Aziz Ahmed Qasimi of the Jamiatul Ulema Hind, and Yusuf Habeeb as special invitees for the executive of the Majlis, says a press release from Mr. Mujtaba Farooque, the secretary general of the Majlis from Delhi. They will hold the office from January 2016 till December 2017.